Ukrainian Parliament passes new Electoral Code

19:03, 11 July 2019

The Ukrainian Parliament approved the new Electoral Code. 230 lawmakers voted for the document. It cancels the system of single-mandate constituencies, which means that the MPs will be running under the open lists.

The electoral threshold will remain the same, it's five percent. There will be 27 electoral districts in Ukraine; the Crimean district will be merged with the Kherson district. Political parties will approve the lists of candidates at their conventions. Voters will choose the number of the political force they support from the general list of parties running for the Parliament. 

The new Code will not affect the upcoming elections slated for July 21. It will only take effect in December 2023.