Ukraine extends sanctions against Russian companies and individuals

17:56, 31 October 2016

The Ukraine’s President’s order to extend sanctions against Russia takes effect today. Petro Poroshenko signed the order on October 17. The sanction list was expanded on more than 300 persons and 150 companies.

Restrictions are due before October of 2017.

Russia State Duma deputies Iosif Kobzon and Vladimir Zhirinovsky, Defense Minster Sergey Shoygu, the Vice-Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin, the Chechen leader Ramzan Kadyrov are among the Russian citizens that fall under the Ukrainian sanctions.

The additional sanctions, such as ban to enter the territory of Ukraine, freezing of assets and closure of business operations, were introduced against high-ranking officials of the so-called Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics - the pro-Russian military organizations on war-torn Eastern Ukraine.