Ukraine to be divided into 10 functional zones, - Ministry of Regional Development

Source : 112 Ukraine

Oleksiy Chernyshov noted that the idea is to direct funding not to the region, as it was before but to the territory
16:55, 11 March 2021

Ukraine to be divided into 10 functional zones
Ministry for Communities and Territories Development of Ukraine

The Ministry of Community and Territorial Development of Ukraine is developing a project to divide its territory into 10 functional zones. This was reported by the press service of the ministry.

"The division into 10 functional types of territories gives economic benefits to residents of different regions and will allow more efficient development of regions. For the first time, regions will be divided by similar socials and economic characteristics and without ties to established borders," the statement said.

Minister of Community and Territorial Development Oleksiy Chernyshov noted that the idea is to direct funding not to the region, as it was before, but to the territory. After all, in one area can be located cities and villages that require completely different approaches to development strategy.

"They are developed systematically and allow distributing funds not only between regions but also between functional territories. For example, the first zone out of ten is the mountainous territories of the Ukrainian Carpathians. It is several regions that we must develop. Next, the Azov-Black Sea macroregion. Those are coasts of the Black and Azov Seas, which have the same problems, then, for example, the border regional zones, in the east and west they are different in the first case in terms of adverse conditions, in the second case - vice versa. There are also monofunctional cities, there are mining regions that require a completely different logic," Chernyshov said.

The functional types of territories for the period till 2027 are as follows:

  1. Mountainous territories of the Ukrainian Carpathians;
  2. Azov-Black Sea macro-region;
  3. Border regions;
  4. Border areas in adverse conditions;
  5. Temporarily occupied territories of Ukraine;
  6. Protected areas (Emerald Network);
  7. Urban agglomerations;
  8. Centers of economic development;
  9. Monofunctional old industrial cities;
  10. Rural areas in adverse conditions.

On July 17, the Verkhovna Rada liquidated old and created new districts in regions. In addition, parliament allowed communities to be financially independent of districts.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more