Ukraine became non-permanent member of the UN Security Council

The decision supported 177 countries – members of the United Nations
18:38, 15 October 2015

Ukraine got the status of non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for the term of 2016-2017 years. The decision was supported by 177 countries whereas the minimum of votes needed was 118.

The election of non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for 2016-2017 is held at the United Nations General Assembly meeting in New York.

Ukraine is the only candidate from the group of Eastern European countries. The country 3 times has been the non-permanent member of the UN Security Council - in 1948 - 1949, 1984-1985 and in 2000-2001.

The UN Security Council consists of 15 members. China, France, Russian Federation, The United States and the United Kingdom hold the status of permanent members of the Council. Ten other non-permanent members elected for 2-year terms by the General Assembly. Each year 5 of them are replaced. 

Related: 67 countries supported the retention of veto in UN Security Council

Related: Russia's right for veto in UN is a licence to kill - Poroshenko

Related: President Poroshenko to give a speech at UN General Assembly`s session

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more
latest news
editor's choice