Health Ministry divided Ukraine into four zones: Why?

Author : News Agency

Source : 112 Ukraine

Of course, everything is aimed at fighting the coronavirus. We will explain what is happening
15:45, 21 August 2020

Girl in a mask, quarantine
Open source

The quarantine in Ukraine was again extended on July 22. The lockdown will last until August 31. In addition, the Health Minister Maksym Stepanov said that Ukraine will be divided into four zones – “red,” “orange,” “yellow” and “green.”

At the same time, the Ministry of Health has already announced its plans to change the criteria for determining quarantine zones.

In particular, the plan to combine the dynamics and the number of cases per 100 thousand population in one indicator, based on the number of new cases per 100 thousand population during 14 days.

What’s more, the regions are now quite often “recolored,” depending on the situation. For example, from August 24 Chernivtsi got to the “red” zone as well as some towns of other regions.

Why was the country divided into zones?

It is for better control of the epidemic situation and timely “quarantine” response. That is, Ukraine is divided into four zones depending on the rate of Covid-19 spread.

Zones and their differences

First let us tell you about the criteria. They will be as follows:

- Bed occupancy rate (not more than 50%).

- Number of tests (at least 24 tests per 100,000 people).

- Coronavirus detection rate (not more than 11%)

- Indicator of the dynamics of growth in the number of infection cases (over 10%).

Now about the zones.

‘Green’ zone

Stepanov stressed that the “green” zone does not mean complete lifting of quarantine. This zone will include areas where indicators are normal.

  • The following restrictions remain mandatory:
  • Wearing a mask or respirator while indoors;
  • Observing a distance during mass events (1 person on 5 sq. m);
  • Keeping a distance during events in cultural institutions (occupancy of 50%);
  • Transportation of people in public transport within the number of seats.

‘Yellow’ zone

It has all restrictions of the “green” zone plus the ban to visit social protection facilities for the elderly, other than those providing emergency services

'Orange' zone

It has the same restriction that the “yellow” zone and bans:

  • work of hostels, camp sites, etc. (except hotels).
  • work of entertainment establishments, restaurants at night.
  • scheduled hospitalizations.
  • work of gyms, fitness centers, cultural institutions.
  • accepting new shifts in children's camps.
  • restrictions for public events: 1 person per 20 square meters and not more than 100 people.

‘Red’ zone

It includes all restrictions of the “orange” zone. Plus it bans:

  • work of public transport.
  • visiting schools, universities, etc.
  • activities of shopping malls, cafes and restaurants.

More important details

“If a region during 5 days exceeds the national indicators, we will break down this region into districts and cities of regional significance, and each district will show its role in the incidence of coronavirus. And depending on the percentage the district or city of regional significance gives, it will be added either in “green,” “yellow,” “orange," or in “red” zone. “Red” zone is the most critical one,” the Chief Sanitary Doctor of Ukraine Victor Lyashko said in interview to Ukrainian radio.

He added that the quarantine will be weakened if the incidence decreases for three days in a row.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more