Draft law preventing MPs from traveling to occupied territories without SSU’s consent registered in parliament

Source : 112 Ukraine

Pavlo Kyshkar, deputy from Petro Poroshenko Bloc, took the initiative
19:37, 9 June 2017

Press service of the National Police

Draft law #6554 on entry to temporary occupied territories by Ukrainian government servants has been registered in Verkhovna Rada. The according information was published on the parliament’s website.

The bill provides that the MP’s, deputies of local councils, officials and people serving in the public bodies should get the written approval from the central office of regional body of Security Service of Ukraine (SSU) when entering or leaving the occupied territories.

If the deputies or government servants did not received the according permission, their actions would be qualified under Article 204-2 of the Administrative Law "Violation of entry-departure procedure to the temporary occupied Ukrainian territory" with the penalty of $65 to $195 or administrative arrest up to 15 days. Another variant of qualification of border crossing — violation of entry-departure procedure to the temporary occupied Ukrainian territory with the aim of harming state interests. In this case, offenders would face restriction of freedom up to 3 years or imprisonment for the same term.

Related: Donbas: Ukrainian border guards wounded in artillery strike on Sartana village

Related: Steel Curtain: How metallurgy develops in Ukraine and in occupied Donbas

Related: Donbas: 152 mm artillery shells hit Sartana, Mariupol sector

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more