Baltic plus group including Ukraine created in PACE

Source : 112 Ukraine

Besides, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia and Georgia entered the group
19:33, 1 October 2019

Open source

Ukrainian delegation to PACE signed the statement on the creation of the permanent group Baltic plus with the participation of Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia and Georgia as Head of Ukrainian delegation Yelyzaveta Yasko reported on Facebook.

“We signed the statement on the creation of the permanent group Baltic plus in PACE. We agreed with Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, and Georgia on further systematic work on the creation of the mechanisms on the return of credibility in PACE. The next meeting of the group will take place in Kyiv,” she wrote.

Related: Latvia, Lithuania to partially boycott PACE session

According to Yasko, the task of the group is to “continue the policy of the non-recognition of Crimea, condemnation of occupation of Crimea, part of eastern Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova by Russia”.

“Our first step is the refusal to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the organization, which lost its authority in the eyes of millions of citizens of states-members,” she added.

Ukraine’s delegation officially refused from the participation in the autumn session of PACE due to the return of Russia.

Earlier Ukrainian delegation in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) was headed by elected MP from the political party Servant of the People Yelyzaveta Yasko

Related: Poland joins boycott of 70th anniversary of PACE

Previously, the Ukrainian Parliament defined the line-up of its delegation in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Information about the full line-up may be found on the Verkhovna Rada's official website. 

On June 26, profile committees of the PACE considered the question of restoring all authorities of the Russian delegation in the Assembly. The concluding recommendation passed after the night-time session says that these powers should be returned without any sanctions - not even those that remained after the PACE resolution was passed on June 24.

Due to this fact, the delegations of Ukraine, Poland, Lithuania, Litva Slovakia, Estonia, and Georgia announced demarche

In September 2019, Russia paid the arrears of contribution to the budget of the Parliamentary Assembly of the European Council 2017-2018.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more