2021 Nobel Prize in Physics awarded for studying of complex physical systems

Source : 112 Ukraine

Three scientists received the award
14:47, 5 October 2021

Nobel Prize Twitter

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”.

Syukuro Manabe (Japan) and Klaus Hasselmann (Germany) were awarded for the physical modeling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming. While Giorgio Parisi (Italy) was awarded for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.

Related: 2020 Nobel Prize in Economics awarded for new formats of auctions

Earlier, the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch.” Their work sheds light on how to reduce chronic and acute pain associated with a range of diseases, trauma and their treatments.

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel, and Andrea Gheza for their joint research on black holes.


Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more