2020 Nobel Prize in Economics awarded for new formats of auctions

Source : 112 Ukraine

Two research workers shared the award
13:59, 12 October 2020

Nobel Prize Twitter

American economists Paul Milgrom and Robert Wilson were awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in Economics for the development of the auction theory and invention of new formats of the auctions. It was announced during a special online conference in Stockholm, Sweden.

Thus, all Nobel Prize winners of 2020 were announced. The first award was provided in medicine.  It was awarded to Harvey J. Alter, Charles M. Ricefor, and Michael Houghton for the discovery of the hepatitis C virus.

Related: Trump, Putin, Lukashenko among winners of Harvard Ig Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel, and Andrea Gheza for their joint research on black holes. One half of the prize will go to Roger Penrose for showing "that the general theory of relativity leads to the formation of black holes" and the other half will be shared jointly by Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the center of our galaxy.”

Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna were the first two women to share the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, awarded for their work on the technology of genome editing.

Related: Zelensky awards European Commission VP Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise

American poet Louise Glück was awarded this year's Nobel Prize in Literature. She has become the first American woman to win the Nobel prize for literature in 27 years. She was cited for “her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal”. Glück is the 16th woman to win the Nobel.

Finally, the United Nations’ World Food Program (WFP) became the winner of the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts to combat hunger and food insecurity around the globe.




Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more