New Schengen visa rules start applying on February 2

Source : 112 Ukraine

There will be no changes in visa policy for countries that have visa-free travel with th EU
14:20, 2 February 2020

Open source

February 2, the new visa rules for short-term trips to EU countries came into force. The website of the European Commission stated this.

“The new EU rules on short-term visas will be applied from February 2, 2020. They will simplify the process of applying for a visa to enter Europe for legal visitors, facilitate the development of tourism, sports and business and at the same time provide more resources to counter the risk of illegal migration and threats to internal security," - the report said.

Related: WHO reports first coronavirus death outside of China

It is noted that the new rules apply to 105 third countries whose citizens require a visa to enter the European Union. At the same time, no changes in visa policy will occur for countries that have a visa-free travel regime in the EU.

The new rules stipulate that short-term visas for third-country nationals are required to enter the 22 EU countries that are members of the Schengen area (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden). Such rules also apply to four countries associated with the EU - Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. Short-term visas, which will be issued in any of the listed countries, allow travel to all EU countries for up to 90 days in any period of 180 days.

As we reported, the United Kingdom is no longer a member of the European Union. The Brexit agreement entered into force at midnight on January 31 Central European Time.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more