Invictus Games 2018 start in Australia

Source : 112 Ukraine

Ukraine will be represented at the competitions by 15 athletes
19:50, 20 October 2018

112 Agency

The official opening ceremony of Invictus Games ended in Australia.

The competition will last from October 20 to 27, 18 countries will take part in it: Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, Denmark, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Iraq, Italy, Jordan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and USA

Ukraine will be represented at the competitions by 15 athletes who will fight for medals in six kids of sport: powerlifting, indoor rowing, athletics, swimming, archery and road cycling.

The Invictus Games is an international competition in the Paralympic style. The wounded, sick and injured service personnel take part in this event. The Games were founded in 2014 by Prince Harry. 

There have been three Invictus Games held so far — the first was in London in 2014, the second was in Orlando in 2016 and the third was in Toronto last year.

The sports played at the Invictus Games include athletics, archery, driving challenge, indoor rowing, powerlifting, road cycling/road para-cycling, swimming, sitting volleyball, wheelchair basketball, wheelchair rugby.

The national team of Ukraine will take part in Invictus Games for the second time. Last year in Toronto, during its debut, the Ukrainian team became one of the best among 16 participants, winning 14 medals in total, 8 of which were gold medals. Ukrainian participants took winning places in swimming, powerlifting, athletics, indoor rowing and archery.

Related: Actress from ‘Diesel Show’ Maryna Poplavskaya dies in car accident

Related: Embassy of Ukraine in U.S. warns of fakes

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more
latest news
editor's choice