Football: FIFA World Cup 2018 Qualification begins

Source : 112 Ukraine

The competition to take place in Russia in summer 2018
14:48, 5 September 2016

112 International

There’s more good news of the new football season: the World Cup qualification games begin. In its frameorks,

32 national teams will compete in the finals of the world’s most prestigious football tournament, which will take place in summer 2018. The teams will be seeded at the final draw ceremony in winter 2017.

As a host country, Russia joins the tournament automatically. Four teams will represent Asia; five will come from Africa; South and North America will send 4 teams each. Oceania might be represented by one team, if it makes it to the playoffs. Europe, traditionally, has the largest delegation at this competition – 14 teams.

The previous World Cup in Brazil saw the triumph of the German national team. The home team, the main favorite of that tournament, lost to the Bundesteam in the semifinals; in the final, Joachim Löw’s men defeated the Dutch.

Ukraine’s team plays in qualification group I. Their opponents will be Iceland, Croatia, Finland, Turkey and Kosovo.

The calendar of the games in 2016 goes as follows:

September 5, 2016

Croatia – Turkey

Ukraine – Iceland

Finland – Kosovo

October 6, 2016

Iceland – Finland

Turkey – Ukraine

Kosovo – Croatia

October 9, 2016

Finland – Croatia

Iceland – Turkey

Ukraine – Kosovo

November 12, 2016

Croatia – Iceland

Ukraine – Finland

Turkey – Kosovo

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more