Australia wins first Olympic competition in rugby sevens

Source : 112 Ukraine

Rio 2016 witnesses the sport’s debut as Olympic discipline
11:41, 9 August 2016


The women’s Olympic team of Australia won the very first rugby sevens competition. In the final match, Aussies outplayed their neighbors from the New Zealand (24:17).

Canada took bronze by defeating the United Kingdom team (33:10).

The International Olympic Committee included rugby sevens into the official program of Summer Olympics in 2009. The last time the Olympic rugby tournament took place was 1924; only then, it was the classical rugby.

Rugby seven involves two teams of seven players each – instead of 15 in the classical rugby; a fixture consists of two halves, seven minutes each. 

Related: Rio 2016: Kharlan ‘happy’ with her bronze award in saber fencing

Related: Rio results: August 9 (morning)

Related: Independent: Rio 2016: Selfie between two Korean gymnasts becomes instant icon of unity

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more