Ukrainians urged not to travel to number of African countries because of Omicron Covid strain

Source : 112 Ukraine

Ukrainians who came from African countries must go through 14 days of self-isolation
18:24, 29 November 2021

Open source

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has recommended that Ukrainian citizens refrain from traveling to a number of African countries due to the spread of the new Omicron strain, the press service reports.

"Due to the spread of the new strain of coronavirus Omicron, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs recommends that Ukrainian citizens refrain from traveling to South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe," the statement reads.

Ukrainians who are currently in these countries were urged to strictly adhere to anti-epidemic requirements, to immediately contact local medical institutions in case of symptoms.

The Foreign Ministry also recommended monitoring the reports of airlines in connection with possible changes in flights and the introduction of additional anti-epidemic measures.

At the same time, the Ministry of Health stated that Ukrainians who were in countries where the Omicron strain was detected should undergo self-isolation upon return to Ukraine.

"Travelers who have spent more than seven days in South Africa, the Republic of Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Eswatini and the Republic of Mozambique for more than 7 days in the last 14 days must undergo 14 days of self-isolation," the ministry said.

The day before, head of the Ministry of Health Viktor Lyashko stated that today the Omicron strain was not detected on the territory of Ukraine.He also stressed that Ukraine has a system for monitoring the spread of coronavirus strains. And all new strains of coronavirus will be subject to mandatory full-genome study.

Related: Pfizer, BioNTech begin adapting their vaccine to Covid's Omicron variant

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more