Ukraine, Poland and Lithuania create new Security Committee

Source : 112 Ukraine

The decision was adopted at the 10th session of the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly
19:39, 8 June 2019

Andry Paruby, the Speaker of Ukraine's Parliament
Facebook Andriy Parubiy

The new Security Committee was created at the 10th session of the Inter-parliamentary Assembly of Ukraine, Lithuania, and Poland. The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine reported this on Twitter.

“At the tenth session of the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly of Ukraine, Lithuania and Poland, a new IPA Security Committee was created,” the report stressed.

Earlier, the President of Ukraine together with his counterparts from Lithuania and Poland visited the Lithuanian-Polish-Ukrainian brigade headquarters (LITPOLUKRBRIG), situated in Lublin, in February this year.

Related: "G7 should be involved in Minsk talks", - ex-president Kravchuk on air of Pulse TV show

Such an agreement was arranged at the 26th meeting of the Advisory Committee of the Presidents of Ukraine and the Republic of Poland under the chairmanship of Deputy Head of the Presidential Administration of Ukraine Kostiantyn Yeliseev, and Secretary of State – Chief of the Cabinet of the President of the Republic of Poland Krzysztof Szczerski.

Related: Parliament agree to hold NATO Parliamentary Assembly in Kyiv in 2020

The parties also decided to intensify cooperation on security matters, including energy security, as well as counteraction to the Nord Stream 2 project.

The agreement on the creation of the brigade was signed in September 2014. The Ukrainian Parliament ratified the document in February 2015. The HQ was opened in Lublin in early 2016.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more