Spain, Portugal, Cyprus, Slovenia, Latvia refuse to use AstraZeneca vaccine

Source : 112 Ukraine

The reason for the temporary refuse has precautionary nature and the drug might be allowed again after estimation of its safety and risks
11:04, 16 March 2021

Open source

Another five EU countries – Spain, Portugal, Cyprus, Slovenia and Latvia – temporarily refused the use of the Covid-19 vaccine produced by AstraZeneca during the immunization of the population as Reuters, Publico, In-Cyprus reported.

Health Minister of Spain Carolina Darias announced the decision to join other countries that also temporarily stopped the use of AstraZeneca. Spain made such a step amid rare but significant cases of side effects of the drug.

The National Authority of Medicines and Health Products of Portugal also made a decision to postpone the use of the vaccine.

On Monday evening, the Health Ministry of Cyprus stated it stops the vaccination of citizens by AstraZeneca in expectation of the estimation of safety held by EMA’s Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee.

Related: Three AstraZeneca vaccinated doctors hospitalized with blood clots in Norway

Health Minister of Slovenia Janez Poklukar stated that the country temporarily stops the vaccination by AstraZeneca drug until Tuesday when the EMA should make a decision on a drug as the government’s press service reported.

The reason for the temporary refuse has precautionary nature and the drug might be allowed again after estimation of its safety and risks. Persons that should have this vaccine will get it later.

The authorities of Latvia stopped the vaccination as a precautionary measure for two weeks as the State Agency of Medicines reported.

Related: Teacher died in Italian Piedmont after AstraZeneca vaccine; no tie between death, drug

Earlier, it was reported that Ukraine is not going to suspend the vaccination campaign with the use of CoviShield drug produced by the Serum Institute of India.

As we reported, the European Medicines Agency (EMA) considers the reports on side effects of the AstraZeneca vaccine. The issue is about information from a few EU countries on the blood clots of some vaccinated people.

Due to the blood clots, some countries stopped the use of the AstraZeneca vaccine; particularly, Denmark, Austria, Estonia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia and Cyprus. Norway is not an EU member but it also stopped the use of AstraZeneca. Later, Bulgaria, Thailand and Romania joined this list. Soon, Ireland and the Netherlands also refused fro AstraZeneca’s use.

Related: Risks and side effects of Covid-19 vaccination: Ten countries refuse from AstraZeneca

In Norway, three medics were hospitalized with blood clots. While a woman died after AstraZeneca shot in Croatia.

Later, AstraZeneca Company stated its vaccine does not lead to blood clotting ability issues.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more