Over 40 world countries close borders for travelers from UK

Source : 112 Ukraine

Royal Mail temporarily stopped all postal service to Europe, excluding Ireland due to the current restrictions for air, vehicle, ferry and railway connection from the UK
13:20, 22 December 2020

Flights to the United Kingdom
Open source

Over 40 countries in the world banned travelers from the UK from entry to their territories due to the concerns about the spread of new coronavirus strain, as BBC reported.

Spain, India, Hong Kong, and Pakistan are some of the last countries that banned the admission of flights from the UK.

The list of countries that banned the entrance from the UK includes Belgium, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Switzerland and others.

Some of the bans already act; others will start to act today.

Related: Ukraine’s Health Ministry renews list of ‘red’ zone countries

The representatives of the EU members-countries offered to impose the requirement on holding of tests for all people who come from the UK.

PM of the UK Boris Johnson stated that he and French President Emmanuel Macron hope to unblock the border between the UK and France in the ‘next few hours’.

As it was announced, France closed its borders for British haulers for 48 hours due to the new variant of Covid-19.

Besides, the work of Eurotunnel was stopped in France. The Eurostar trains to Belgium also do not work. However, Eurotunnel representative John Keefe expressed hope that the travels from the EU might be renewed on Wednesday or Thursday.

Related: New Covid-19 stain already observed in more than five countries

Meanwhile, Royal Mail temporarily stopped all postal services to Europe, excluding Ireland due to the current restrictions for air, vehicle, ferry, and railway connection from the UK.

According to the UK's chief scientific adviser, further restrictions are "likely" to be introduced in England to control the new variant of the virus. People traveling from the areas of the fourth level to other parts of England are asked to assume that they have the new variant and hold self-isolation.

Earlier, Prime Minister of the UK Boris Johnson stated that a new coronavirus strain was identified in the UK.

Related: Ukraine not intends to halt air traffic with UK due to new Covid-19 strain

The World Health Organization urged Europeans to strengthen approaches to control and prevent the spread of the virus due to the appearance of a new strain of coronavirus in some European countries.

Besides, the new variant of coronavirus is observed in the Netherlands, Denmark, and Australia.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more