Over 20 countries suspend flights to UK over new Covid-19 strain: EU convenes emergency meeting

Source : 112 Ukraine

The ban term on crossing the border varies from country to country
12:26, 21 December 2020

Open source

More than 20 countries have decided to temporarily suspend flights to the United Kingdom, due to the spread of a new strain of coronavirus in the country. BBC news agency reported this.

Hong Kong has joined countries such as Switzerland, Germany, and Italy and has suspended UK flights.

On Sunday evening, France shut its border with the UK for 48 hours, meaning no lorries or ferries will be able to sail from the port of Dover.

As queues grow in Kent, the prime minister will chair a meeting of the government's emergency committee later.

Related: Number of European countries restrict communication with UK over new strain of coronavirus

Belgium, the Irish Republic, and Canada have also suspended flights. India will halt flights from Tuesday evening until the evening of 31 December.

Austria is also set to bring in a ban, while Bulgaria has suspended flights to and from the UK from midnight. Unlike the short-term measures in many other nations, its ban lasts until 31 January.

European Union member states are due to meet in Brussels later to discuss a coordinated response.

Earlier, EU was considering shutting down the entire transport connection with the UK.

Related: Coronavirus mutation: WHO urges Europe to strengthen approaches to prevent spread of Covid

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more