Nobel prize in physics goes to Weiss, Barish and Thorne

Source : 112 Ukraine

The three scentists managed to confirm Einstein’s theory, contributing to LIGO detector and observation of gravitational waves
16:18, 3 October 2017

Winners of 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize week continues in Stockholm. On October 3, the jury awarded prizes to the Nobel laureates in physics. It went to Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne, for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and observation of gravitational waves.

The three scientists claimed they had managed to confirm Einstein’s theory back in February 2016.

On October 4, the jury will announce the name of the Nobel laureate in chemistry, and October 5, - in literature. This year’s Nobel Peace Prize winner will be named on October 6.   

Related: When Nobel laughs: What is Ig Nobel Prize and what are its laureates known for?

Related: Norway accused Russia of trying to influence Nobel Committee decision

Related: Bob Dylan decided not to come to Nobel Prize Ceremony in December

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more