Nobel Prize in Physics awarded for inventions in laser physics

Source : 112 Ukraine

The award was given to three people: Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland
13:00, 2 October 2018

The Noble Prize Twitter

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics to Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland "for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics." This was announced on the website of The Nobel Prize.

One of the prize laureate Donna Strickland noted the need to celebrate female physicists, saying she was proud to be one.

"Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland – this year’s Nobel Prize recipients – paved the way towards the shortest and most intense laser pulses created by humankind. The technique they developed opened up new areas of research and led to broad industrial and medical applications," the Twitter message says.

Related: 2018 Ig Nobel Prizes winners announced

As it was reported earlier, James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo were awarded with the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation. 

It was noted that cancer kills millions of people every year and is one of humanity’s greatest health challenges. By stimulating the ability of our immune system to attack tumour cells, this year’s Nobel Prize laureates have established an entirely new principle for cancer therapy.

Related: Draft law nominates Sentsov for Nobel Peace Prize

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more