Nobel Prize in Medicine awarded for discovery of hepatitis C virus

Source : 112 Ukraine

The award was equally shared by three scientists
14:00, 5 October 2020

Harvey J. Alter, Charles M. Ricefor, and Michael Houghton
Nobel Prize Twitter

Harvey J. Alter, Charles M. Ricefor, and Michael Houghton were jointly awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for the discovery of the hepatitis C virus. This was announced during a special online conference in Stockholm, Sweden, DW reports.

The scientists received prize money of 10 million Swedish kronor (over 1,118,000 dollars – 112 International.) In the future, the Nobel Foundation intends to adjust the sum of the prize money in accordance with the real income of society.

Related: Protests in Belarus: Nobel-winning Belarusian writer questioned

This year's award was 111th in the history of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. To date, only 12 women have been among the laureates. No one has ever received the Nobel Prize in Medicine more than once, although there have been such precedents in other fields of science. Today's winners have joined the list of 219 colleagues who were also awarded the prestigious scientific award.

As we reported earlier, President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Related: Trump, Putin, Lukashenko among winners of Harvard Ig Nobel Prize

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more