Nobel Peace Prize 2018 awarded for fight against sexual abuse at war

Source : 112 Ukraine

A doctor from Congo and Yezidis victim of the violence committed by the ISIS fighters shared the award
15:30, 5 October 2018

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad
Nobel Prize Twitter

The Nobel Prize for Peace 2018 was awarded to Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege and Yezidis Nadia Murad for their efforts for the prevention of the sexual abuse as the weapon of war and armed conflicts as the official website of the Nobel Prize reported.  

Gynecologist Denis Mukwege dedicated the significant part of his work as a doctor to the help of the victims of the sexual abuse in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. In 1999 he built the hospital Panzi, in Bukavu city along with his team and began providing the help to thousands of the patients suffered during the Civil War.

Related: Ukraine’s parliament nominates Sentsov for Nobel Peace Prize

Nadia Murad became a victim of the sexual abuse during the armed conflict with the terrorist organization ISIS. She, along with other Yezidis, lived in the north of Iraq, Kojo village that was attacked by ISIS in August 2014. Hundreds of people were killed that day, while children and women were enslaved. Murad was one of 3,000 Yezidis women who suffered during the conflict. She spent 9 months in the captivity, escaped and began to fight against the sexual violence at war. At the age of 23, she was considered UN Goodwill Ambassador in the fight for the dignity of those affected by human trafficking.

The sum of the award this year is 9 million Swedish krona or $1,1 million.

As it was reported earlier, James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo were awarded with the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation. 

Related: 2018 Ig Nobel Prizes winners announced

It was noted that cancer kills millions of people every year and is one of humanity’s greatest health challenges. By stimulating the ability of our immune system to attack tumour cells, this year’s Nobel Prize laureates have established an entirely new principle for cancer therapy.

Also, we reported that Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 with one half to Frances H. Arnold ”for the directed evolution of enzymes” and the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter ”for the phage display of peptides and antibodies.”

Related video:

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more
latest news
editor's choice