Memorandum on ceasefire entered into force in Syria

Source : 112 Ukraine

There are currently four de-escalation zones in the country
12:50, 6 May 2017


Memorandum on ceasefire regime entered into force in four de-escalation zones in Syria on Saturday, May 6. This was reported by DW.

"Memorandum on de-escalation entered into force in Syria," the message reads.

Special zones were created on the basis of memorandum signed in Astana. Russian Federation, Turkey and Iran stand as guarantors of the agreement.

According to Syrian Observatory for Human Rights (SOHR), it was quiet in the mentioned zones on Saturday night after months of intensive fighting.

At the same time, explosion occurred in Teir Malla city north of Homs half an hour after memorandum came into effect. According to human rights defenders, a missile was launched from the positions of Syrian army at the area controlled by opposition.

"The de-escalation zones will be set up in four regions of Syria, namely, in the Idlib province and some parts of the neighboring provinces (Aleppo, Latakia and Hama), the area north of Homs, the suburb of Damascus East Ghouta and some provinces in Syria’s southern parts - Daraa and Quneitra," TASS reports.

Related: Syria negotiation group agrees on ceasefire in four safety zones

Related: International meeting concerning Syria take place in Astana

Related: HRW: Syrian army landed at least four chemical attacks since December 2016

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more