Latvia bans broadcasting of seven Russia Today TV channels

Source : 112 Ukraine

The ban will act until Kiselyov is included in the EU sanctions list
15:44, 1 July 2020

Open source

The National Electronic Mass Media Council (NEPLP) of Latvia banned the broadcasting of seven propaganda TV channels of the Russian public group RT (Russia Today) in the territory of the country. The decision was made according to the EU sanctions as the NEPLP reported.

It is noted that after the sanctions imposed by the Council of the European Union, these seven TV channels were considered by the Latvian security bodies as the most influential Russian propaganda channels in Europe.

Related: Ukraine reveals impact of anti-Russian sanctions

Thus, the TV channels RT, RT HD, RT Arabic, RT Spanish, RT Documentary HD, RT, and RT Documentary TV are banned in Latvia. They are under the actual control, leadership, and sole management of Russian propagandist and TV anchor Dmitry Kiselyov who is included in the sanction list of the EU stood for the disruption of territorial integrity, sovereignty, and independence of Ukraine. The TV channels are registered in Russia and the UK.

It is noted that the ban will last until Kiselyov remains to be in the EU sanctions list.

Related: Council of EU continues anti-Russian sanctions imposed for Crimea’s annexation

RT was established in 2005 in Russia. It is the international television network which focuses on the foreign audience. It is financed by the government of Russia.

As we reported, the Council of the European Union decided to extend the economic sanctions against the Russian Federation for a further six months, until 31 January 2021.


Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more