It’s official: Russia skips Eurovision 2017, - EBU statement

Source : 112 Ukraine

This year’s European song contest will involve 42 countries
22:54, 13 April 2017

The European Broadcasting Union has officially confirmed that Russia will not be able to perform at Eurovision 2017. The official statement was released at the organization’s website on late April 13.

‘Russia will no longer be able to take part in this year’s competition. We very much wanted all 43 countries to be able to participate and did all we could to achieve this,’ the message reads.

Frank Dieter Freiling, Chairman of the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group, the event’s steering committee, said: ‘We strongly condemn the Ukrainian authorities' decision to impose a travel ban on Julia Samoylova as we believe it thoroughly undermines the integrity and non-political nature of the Eurovision Song Contest and its mission to bring all nations together in friendly competition. However, preparations continue apace for the Eurovision Song Contest in the host city Kyiv. Our top priority remains to produce a spectacular Eurovision Song Contest in May.’

Earlier today, Russian Channel One said they wouldn’t be broadcasting Eurovision 2017, which is to take place in Kyiv in less than a month – from May 9 till May 13.   

Previously, Ukraine’s Security Service banned entrance for Russia's Yulia Samoylova for three years – due to her previous performances in the Russian-annexed Crimea.  

Source: European Broadcasting Union

Related: Russia’s Channel 1 to not broadcast Eurovision 2017 in Ukraine

Related: Kyiv police release safety tips for guests of Eurovision 2017

Related: Kyiv to limit alcohol sale during Eurovision

Related: Police asks Kyiv City State Administration to introduce "non-alcohol policy" during Eurovision

Related: Photos from Eurovision 2017 main venue

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more