Bulgaria, Thailand, Romania suspend use of AstraZeneca vaccine

Source : 112 Ukraine

The vaccination was delayed due to the reports from a few EU countries on the blood clots of some vaccinated people despite the absence of evidence
20:42, 12 March 2021

Open source

The Bulgarian government ordered to stop the use of the AstraZeneca vaccine until all concerns over its safety are dispelled as reported.

“Until clear and confirmed diagnosis arrives in the written form from the European Medicine Agency on drugs – whether or not it is permitted to insert AstraZeneca vaccine, we will not use it,” Bulgarian PM Boyko Borisov said.

Moreover, Thailand stopped the use of this vaccine.

Related: CoviShield vaccine valid until June 2021: Ukraine might not succeed using all doses

Thai Prime Minister had to be the first person in the country who get the dose of the AstraZeneca but the vaccination was postponed due to the report on blood clots caused by the vaccines despite the absence of evidence.

Besides, Romanian authorities stooped the vaccination of the population.

However, the National Committee on the coordination of vaccination against Covid-19 underlined that this decision is made as a precaution measure and currently, Romania has no scientific arguments that would encourage to adopt it.

As we reported, the European Medicines Agency (EMA) considers the reports on side effects of the AstraZeneca vaccine. The issue is about information from a few EU countries on the blood clots of some vaccinated people.

Related: Austria ready to facilitate speeding up Ukraine’s receipt of vaccines under COVAX initiative

The EMA has not confirmed yet the direct connection between the vaccines and blood clots. The experts on the basis of the preliminary data considered that the number of cases of blood-clotting after the vaccination with AstraZeneca is not higher than it is observed among the population – 22 cases per 3 million doses.

Due to this reason, seven EU counties stopped the use of the AstraZeneca vaccine; particularly, Denmark, Austria, Estonia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia and Cyprus. Norway is not an EU member but it also stopped the use of AstraZeneca.


Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more
latest news
editor's choice