Arata Isozaki becomes Pritzker Architecture Prize winner

Source : 112 Ukraine

The Japanese master amazed the award's jury with his works that may be seen worldwide
14:36, 6 March 2019

Arata Isozaki, Pritzker Architecture Prize winner in 2019

87-year-old Arata Isozaki, the Japanese architect who designed over a hundred buildings across the globe got Pritzker Architecture Prize. The world-renowned master has been officially announced the winner of this analog of the Nobel Prize.  

The 2019 Jury Citation states, in part, “Possessing a profound knowledge of architectural history and theory, and embracing the avant-garde, he never merely replicated the status quo, but his search for meaningful architecture was reflected in his buildings that to this day, defy stylistic categorizations, are constantly evolving, and always fresh in their approach.” The respective message may be found on the prize's official website.

Isozaki is famous as the creator of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona and Allianz Tower in Milan. 

Related: German architects win contest for best project of Revolution of Dignity Museum

Isozaki is the 46th Laureate of the Pritzker Prize, and the eighth to hail from Japan. The 2019 Pritzker Prize ceremony will take place in France this May, accompanied by a public lecture in Paris.

Arata Isozaki was born on Kyushu island in Japan in 1931. In 1954, he graduated from Tokyo University and opened his own bureau in less than ten years after that. Among his creations are sports objects, university campuses, museums built in Asia, Europe, North America, Australia and in the Middle East.   

Related: Best architectural structures of the Soviet period: Verkhovna Rada

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more