2021 Nobel Prize in Peace awarded to journalists Maria Ressa, Dmitry Muratov

Source : 112 Ukraine

They fight for freedom of speech in their countries, the Philippines and Russia
12:52, 8 October 2021

Nobel Prize Twitter

This year's Nobel Prize in Peace has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa (the Philippines), Dmitry Muratov (Russia).

They were awarded "for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace."

Maria Ressa is the founder of the Philippine Rappler news agency. The Nobel Committee noted that she uses the freedom of speech to expose abuse of power, violence and growing authoritarianism in the Philippines. Dmitriy Muratov heads Russian opposition newspaper “Novaya Gazeta” since 1995. He got the prize for “protecting the freedom of speech in Russia in more and more difficult conditions during decades”.

Related: International Booker Prize longlist announced

Earlier, the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch.” Their work sheds light on how to reduce chronic and acute pain associated with a range of diseases, trauma and their treatments. Besides, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”. The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Benjamin List (Germany) and David W.C. MacMillan (the US) "for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis". Besides, the Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah (Tanzania).

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Peace was awarded to the United Nations’ World Food Program (WFP) for its efforts to combat hunger and food insecurity around the globe.


Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more