2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded for development of asymmetric organocatalysis

Source : 112 Ukraine

Two scientists from Germany and the US will receive the award
14:19, 6 October 2021

112 Agency

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Benjamin List (Germany) and David W.C. MacMillan (the US) "for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis".

Asymmetric organocatalysis is the tool for the construction of new molecules. The work of List and MacMillan has greatly influenced the pharmaceutical research and made chemistry more eco-friendly.

Related: Lithuanian president nominates Belarus opposition leader for Nobel Peace prize

Earlier, the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch.” Their work sheds light on how to reduce chronic and acute pain associated with a range of diseases, trauma and their treatments. Besides, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”.

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna for their work on the technology of genome editing.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more