Three EU countries deny Merkel's statement on Refugee Agreement

Source : 112 Ukraine

"This alarming message - is complete stupidity," - said the Prime Minister of the Czech Republic
20:48, 1 July 2018

Open source

The Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland deny the information that they are ready to participate in the procedure of expelling from Germany migrants registered in other EU countries. This is reported by Deutsche Welle.

"On such topic no talks were conducted," the representative of the Czech government said in an interview with the CTK news agency on Saturday, June 30.

"This alarming message - is complete stupidity," Czech Prime Minister Andrei Babish said during his visit to France. "Germany did not address us, and at the moment I would not sign such an agreement."

"We do not plan any negotiations, there are no reasons for this, we strongly reject it," Babish continued, referring to the possibility of accepting migrants from the German border. Even before the EU summit on June 28-29, at which a number of agreements on migrants were reached, the Czech prime minister stated that Prague would not conclude a bilateral agreement with Berlin on the return of refugees.

The representative of the Hungarian government Zoltan Kovacs also said that Budapest had not concluded any agreements with Berlin on refugees.

In a conversation with the Reuters agency, Kovacs said it was impossible "for migrants to come to Hungary without having previously entered another EU country." "In 2015, Germany tried to make us the first country of entry, and we refused it even then," Kovacs recalled.

Poland also did not sign any agreements to expedite the return of migrants in the European Union. This was stated by the representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland Arthur Lompart, reports Reuters.

"There are no new agreements on accepting asylum seekers from EU countries, we confirm this, like the Czech Republic and Hungary," Lompart said.

Earlier on the same day, it became known that German Chancellor Angela Merkel enlisted the support of 14 countries in the matter of the expedited procedure of deportation of migrants.

It was about Belgium, Hungary, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Finland, France, the Czech Republic, Sweden and Estonia. 

Related: Trump's adviser secretly meets with British eurosceptics in London

Related: Negotiations between Russia and Syrian rebels ends in failure

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more