Sassoli stands for entry of four Balkan countries in the EU

Source : 112 Ukraine

It concerns Serbia, North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania
20:35, 8 June 2021

The President of the European Parliament
EU Neighbours

Head of the European Parliament David Sassoli has endorsed the extension of the EU. He supported the entry of Serbia, North Macedonia, Montenegro, and Albania into the bloc.

"Enlargement can bring immense benefits both to the region and to Europe as a whole, helping to secure a stable, prosperous, and peaceful continent," Sassoli said as quoted by Radio Liberty.

However, the speed of them joining the EU depends on how soon the respective governments complete the necessary reforms. 

Related: Russia to try to maintain influence in Western Balkans, - expert

According to Radio Liberty, the EU has been negotiating with Serbia and Montenegro, while Albania and North Macedonia are official candidates. Last month, Skoje received the support from Austria, Czechia, and Slovenia to start talks with Brussels. Bosnia and Herzegovina also stand as potential candidates. 

Related: Russia uses Serbia-Kosovo dispute to assert its influence in Western Balkans

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more