Rick Daems to head PACE, - Ukrainian official

Source : 112 Ukraine

The group of liberals supported his candidature
19:17, 30 September 2019

112 Agency

Belgian liberal Rick Daems will become the next PACE president as member of Ukrainian delegation to PACE Oleksiy Honcharenko reported on Facebook.

“It can be seen from today’s decision of the group of liberals who unanimously supported his candidature for the PACE president. The authorities of current PACE President Liliane Maury Pasquier expires in January 2020 and right to propose the candidature of the president comes to the group of liberals (ALDE),” Honcharenko noted.

Daems is the members of the Belgium delegation to PACE since 2007. He enters the group of Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE). Currently, he is the member of the committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, Committee on Policy and Democracy, Committee on Institutional Issues.

Related: Half of Lithuanian Delegation declares boycott to PACE session

Besides, he is a member of the committee on implementation of the commitments by countries-members of the Council of Europe.

Ukraine’s delegation officially refused from the participation in the autumn session of PACE due to the return of Russia.

Earlier Ukrainian delegation in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) was headed by elected MP from the political party Servant of the People Yelyzaveta Yasko

Previously, the Ukrainian Parliament defined the line-up of its delegation in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Information about the full line-up may be found on the Verkhovna Rada's official website. 

Related: Georgia opposes renewal of Russia's voting rights in PACE

On June 26, profile committees of the PACE considered the question of restoring all authorities of the Russian delegation in the Assembly. The concluding recommendation passed after the night-time session says that these powers should be returned without any sanctions - not even those that remained after the PACE resolution was passed on June 24.

Due to this fact, the delegations of Ukraine, Poland, Lithuania, Litva Slovakia, Estonia, and Georgia announced demarche

In September 2019, Russia paid the arrears of contribution to the budget of the Parliamentary Assembly of the European Council 2017-2018.


Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more