NATO describes rotation of forces in Eastern Europe

Source : 112 Ukraine

Alliance said about participation of 16 countries in the rotation of forces
10:32, 27 October 2016

Open source

Several NATO countries have agreed to join the formation of the battalions of the alliance in the Baltic States and Poland, said the NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg. An attack on one ally will be treated "as an attack on all of us," he said.

As NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said after a meeting of heads of the ministries of defense of the alliance, some NATO countries have joined the initiative of Canada, Germany, Great Britain and the United States to put ‘multinational battalions’ on the eastern borders of the alliance.

Related: NATO official: Alliance and Ukraine to enhance cooperation in security sector

According to him, Albania, Italy, Poland and Slovenia will complement the battalion, who heads Canada in Latvia. Belgium, Croatia, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Norway will join the battalion, led by Germany in Lithuania. Denmark and France will join the battalion in Estonia, which is headed by Britain. Romania and the UK, in turn, will contribute to the battalion under the command of the United States in Poland.

"Our forces will be truly multinational. This solution is the clear statement that NATO acts as a unit, and the attack on one ally will be treated as an attack on all of us", said Stoltenberg.

Related: Stoltenberg: NATO stands with Ukraine

He recalled that an agreement to accommodate four battalions in early 2017 has been reached at the NATO summit in Warsaw. "I am pleased to confirm that the plan is in the process of its realization", added Stoltenberg.

In addition, the NATO Secretary General said that the heads of the Defense Ministry meeting discussed "the progress in strengthening the NATO presence in the Black Sea region."

"I am pleased to confirm that several countries have expressed a desire to contribute to the presence of the Alliance in the Black Sea region - on land, at sea and in the air," said Stoltenberg, adding that he means Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, Poland, Turkey and USA.

Related: Stoltenberg: NATO and allies to assist Ukraine via trust funds

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more