NASA publishes full list of Artemis Team members for upcoming Moon missions

Source : 112 Ukraine

The agency expects to establish a sustainable human lunar presence by the end of this decade
12:24, 11 December 2020


National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) has selected 18 astronauts to form its Artemis Team for the upcoming astronaut missions on and around the Moon, NASA's press service reports.

I give you the heroes who will carry us to the Moon and beyond – the Artemis Generation. It is amazing to think that the next man and the first woman on the Moon are among the names that we just read. The Artemis Team astronauts are the future of American space exploration – and that future is bright," U.S. Vice President Mike Pence stated.

Related: China's Chang'e-5 spacecraft successfully lands on moon

The Artemis Team members are: Joseph Acaba; Kayla Barron; Raja Chari; Matthew Dominick; Victor Glover; Warren Hoburg; Jonny Kim; Christina Hammock Koch; Kjell Lindgren; Nicole A. Mann; Anne McClain; Jessica Meir; Jasmin Moghbeli; Kate Rubins; Frank Rubio; Scott Tingle; Jessica Watkins; Stephanie Wilson.

It is noted that the agency expects to land the first woman and next man on the Moon in 2024 and establish a sustainable human lunar presence by the end of this decade.

As we reported earlier, back in November, Ukraine's State Space Agency signed the NASA Artemis Agreement on the Principles of Cooperation in Civil Exploration and the Use of the Moon, Mars, comets, and asteroids for peaceful purposes.

Thus, Ukraine has become the ninth signatory to the Artemis Agreements.

Related: NASA plans to land people on Moon in 2024

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more