MEP: English might be excluded from list of official EU languages

Source : 112 Ukraine

Brussels could make such decision due to the UK’s withdrawal from the EU
11:46, 28 June 2016

112 International

Danuta Hübner, member of Constitutional Affairs Committee at the European Parliament, said this at Tuesday briefing (Politico).

There are 24 official languages in the EU, including English. Every member country has the right to submit a language as the official one; English was submitted by the United Kingdom.  

Now that the Great Britain decided to withdraw from the EU, there will be no more official representatives of English language in the EU, as Malta and Ireland submitted also Maltese and Gaelic languages as their official ones, respectively.

‘No UK, no English language,’ Hübner said, adding that this language is one of the most extensively used ones in the EU institutions. She stressed all EU member countries will need to give their consent on the matter. 

Related: Poroshenko to discuss Brexit influence on relations of EU and Ukraine

Related: Klimkin: Brexit might delay EU-Ukraine visa-free regime for several weeks

Related: Lagarde: No panic in world economy due to Brexit

Related: U.S. Presidential Advisor: Brexit is no threat to U.S. national security

Related: Brexit can simplify European integration of Ukraine, - chairman of Polish Sejm

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more