Eurovision organizers ban flags of Crimean Tatars and so-called “DPR”

Source : 112 Ukraine

The contest’s organizing committee made a list of flags to be banned for use during the event
14:42, 29 April 2016

The list is published at the official website of Ericsson Globe arena in Stockholm; as is known, it’s the Swedish capital that will host the Eurovision this year.

In particular, organizers forbid to use flags of certain disputed territories, provinces, regions and other administrative and territorial units. Among these are flags of Kosovo, Nagorno-Karabakh Republic, the Basque, so-called “Republic of Crimea” and the flag of Crimean Tatars, so-called “Donetsk People’s Republic”, Palestine, Northern Cyprus and Transnistria.  

Besides, the committee decisively forbids using the ISIS’s flag during the contest.  

Head of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people Refat Chubarov carefully commented on the prohibition against Crimean Tatar flag. “Let’s be perfectly clear here: the Eurovision’s organizers restricted the use of symbols, only leaving the opportunity to demonstrate state flags of the countries participating in the contest.  Of course, I’m not happy with that decision, but that’s up to the organizers. They put maximum efforts to evade troubles due to the Kremlin’s attempts to mix the contest with politics”, Chubarov posted at Facebook.

According to him, currently one has to focus on the foreign support of Crimean Tatar singer Jamala who represents Ukraine at this year’s song contest in Stockholm.  

Related: Contest song by Crimean Jamala won Eurovision Exit Poll

Related: Jamala performs 15th in Eurovision semi-finals

Related: Organizers of Eurovision don’t find Jamala’s song “1944” political

Related: Petro Poroshenko voted for Jamala during the "Eurovision-2016" selection

Related: Meaning behind Ukraine’s 2016 Eurovision entry

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more