European Parliament upholds von der Leyen as head of European Commission

Source : 112 Ukraine

MEPs voted for her candidacy at the plenary session in Strasbourg
21:14, 16 July 2019

Munich Security Conference

MPs of the European Parliament voted for Ursula von der Leyen as the new head of European Commission. They supported her at the plenary session in Strasbourg, Interfax-Ukraine news agency reported. 

"Based on the voting results, the candidate of the European Council Mrs. Ursula von der Leyen was elected the chairperson of the European Commission", said Head of the European Parliament David-Maria Sassoli.

On 2 July 2019, von der Leyen was proposed by the European Council as their candidate for this office.

Related: EU leaders arrive in Brussels to elect new head of European Commission

European politician and now the President-elect of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen has served as Minister of Defence of Germany since 2013. A member of the centre-right Christian Democratic Union (CDU), she is the first woman in German history to hold the office of defence minister, and the first woman to become President of the European Commission.

Related: Timmermans most likely to chair European Commission, - reporter


Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more