EU leaders sign agreement on Brexit

Source : 112 Ukraine

The signed document will allow the European Parliament to ratify it
14:06, 24 January 2020

Charles Michel/Twitter

European Commission's President Ursula von der Leyen and President of European Council Charles Michel have signed an agreement on the UK's withdrawal from the European Union, which opens the way for its ratification by the European Parliament. EU leaders wrote about it on their Twitter pages.

“Charles Michel and I have just signed the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the UK from the EU, opening the way for its ratification by the European Parliament,” der Leyen wrote.

In his turn, Michel stated that the EU and the UK start a new chapter as partners and allies. Even though things inevitably change, their friendship will remain.

Related: Elizabeth II signs law on Brexit

As we reported earlier, Queen of Great Britain, Her Majesty Elizabeth II signed the law on the country's withdrawal from the EU. Now, it is the European Parliament's turn to sign it, Deutsche Welle informs. 

The House of Lords of the British Parliament ratified the deal on January 22, after the House of Commons passed it. 

"We promised to #GetBrexitDone and we are on track to leave on 31st January," Steven Barclay, the British Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union posted that on Twitter.

Related: Consequences of Brexit: What challenges lay ahead?

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more