EU Council extends sanctions against Yanykovych, his entourage

Source : 112 Ukraine

However, two persons were excluded from the sanction list
15:12, 5 March 2018

The EU Council extended the sanctions against 13 people, including Viktor Yanukovych, the former president of Ukraine and his allies until March 6, 2019, as it is stated at the website of the council.

‘The Council extended until 6 March 2019 the asset freezes against 13 persons identified as responsible for the misappropriation of Ukrainian state funds or for the abuse of office causing a loss to Ukrainian public funds’, the message said.

Related: Yanukovych’s press conference: Key Quotes

At the same time, Olena Lukash, the former Justice Minister of Ukraine ad Serhy Klyuyev, the former MP and businessman were removed from the sanction list.

‘The restrictive measures against two persons were not extended. This decision was based on the annual review of the measures’, the EU Council claimed.

Related: Issuance of Russian citizenship to Yanukovych was never considered, - lawyer

‘If the EU and Ukraine do not step up their efforts, more people can be removed from the list in the future’, Rikard Jozwiak, the correspondent of Radio Liberty reported on Twitter.

Earlier it was reported that the EU can remove Olena Lukash, the former Justice Minister of Ukraine and Serhy Klyuev, the businessman from the sanctions list. Later the European court made a decision on the illegality of the last wave of the sanctions imposed against Serhy Klyuyev, the businessman, former MP and brother of Andry Klyuyev, the former head of the Administration of the president by the EU Council in 2017.

Related: Poroshenko testified in the treason trial of Yanukovych: Key points

The EU imposed the sanctions against Yanukovych and his entourage in March 2014 and extended them annually.

Mykola Azarov, the former Prime Minister of Ukraine, Vitaly Zakharchenko, the former Interior Minister, Viktor Pshonka, the former Prosecutor General and his son, Olena Lukash, the former Justice Minister, Andry Klyuyev, the former Head of the Presidential Administration, Serhy Klyuyev, the MP, Viktor Ratyshniak, the former Deputy Interior Minister, Serhy Arbuzov, the former First Vice Prime Minister, Oleksandr Klymenko, the former Incomes and Levy Minister, Eduard Stavytskym the former Energy Minister, Dmytro Tabachnyk, the former Education Minister, Serhy Kurchenko, the oligarch remained on the list.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more