EU can issue statements on behalf of 26 countries, excluding Hungary, - diplomat

Source : 112 Ukraine

This position may be due to a number of vetoes by Hungary at the EU level on matters of foreign affairs
09:22, 23 May 2021

The EU can now start issuing statements on behalf of 26 members rather than all 27 following a series of vetoes by Hungary on a range of issues. It was announced by an EU diplomat, Euractiv reports.

The remark follows a number of vetoes by Hungary at the EU level on matters of foreign affairs.

“We consistently agree on very important international issues with 26 and we cannot agree at 27. It is not good. The option of doing statements at 26 is certainly there, but it’s not preferable,” he said.

Related: Zelensky explains declaration on Ukraine’s European integration signed by Poland

In his opinion, it does not really matter if, for example the EU declaration on Hong Kong received the backing of 27 or 26 member states.

“It would not weaken the EU globally,” he added.

However, he then hedged his comments, saying that this was not a completely new situation, and that other countries in the past had posed an obstacle in a different context, such as the Netherlands having blocked the ratification of the Association Agreement with Ukraine.

“Most member states that have an issue are looking for ways to solve that issue. We have not seen that from Hungary,” the diplomat said.

As we reported earlier, the European Council extended the sanctions imposed for cyber attacks against the European Union or its member states for another year, until May 18, 2022. 

Related: EU discusses creation of rapid response military force

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more