Donald Trump signs new immigration order

Source : 112 Ukraine

The document bans immigration from six countries and suspends refugee program
20:24, 6 March 2017


US President Donald Trump signed the new version of executive order, according to CNN.

According to the message, the new order bans immigration from six Muslim-majority countries and suspends refugee program. Entry to the US will be temporarily halted (90 days) for Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. At the same time, "the new version exempts people who hold current visas and drops an indefinite ban on Syrian refugees, reducing it to 120 days. It also makes clear that lawful permanent residents are excluded from ban," according to the publication.

The new order differs from the previous one, which was suspended by court, mainly with Iraq exclusion. 

As the edition noted, Iraq was dropped from the "black list" as it improved the informing of American government of its citizens coming to the US territory.

The order also prohibits entry for all refugees for 120 days and indefinitely halts refugees from Syria.

The document enters into force on March 16.

Related: White House may rewrite immigration order or issue a new one

Related: US Court of Appeals rejected Trump’s attempt to reinstate immigration order

Related: Court dismissed Trump’s request to re-establish immigration order

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more