Brexit: EU agrees on visa-free regime

Source : 112 Ukraine

Visa exemption is granted on condition of reciprocity
17:50, 3 April 2019


The EU Council and the European Parliament agreed on the visa-free regime within the Schengen Area for the British after Brexit, as the press office of the EU Council reported.

“The Council and the European Parliament have agreed that, following Brexit, UK citizens coming to the Schengen area for a short stay (90 days in any 180 days) should be granted visa free travel. This agreement was confirmed yesterday by EU ambassadors on behalf of the Council and by the European Parliament Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs committee today. The text now needs to be formally adopted by the European Parliament and the Council,” the message reads.

It was noted that the organizations would adopt the reached agreement later.

Related: British PM Theresa May plans fourth voting on Brexit

“According to EU rules, visa exemption is granted on condition of reciprocity. The government of the United Kingdom has stated that it does not intend to require a visa from EU citizens travelling to the UK for short stays. In the event that the United Kingdom introduces a visa requirement for nationals of at least one member state in the future, the existing reciprocity mechanism would apply and the three EU institutions and the member states would undertake to act without delay in applying the mechanism. The Commission would monitor the respect of the principle of reciprocity on a continuous basis and immediately inform the European Parliament and the Council of any developments which could endanger the respect of this principle,” the press office informed.

Earlier, the House of Commons of the British Parliament ruled to delay the procedure of Brexit until late June. 

Related: EU completes preparations for possible 'no-deal' scenario with Brexit

412 MPs upheld the decision; 202 voted against

On March 20, British Prime Minister Theresa May wrote a letter to President of the European Council, Donald Tusk, asking Brexit to be delayed until June 30, 2019.

On March 14, the House of Commons of the UK Parliament did not approve a repeated referendum on the issue of the country's withdrawal from the EU.

Related: Possible resignation: Pressure grows on Theresa May due to unsuccessful Brexit

The exit of the UK from the EU was scheduled for March 29, 2019. It was determined by a referendum in June 2016, in which 51.89% of Britons supported the country's withdrawal from the EU in order to regain control over its own funds, laws, borders and the internal market.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more
latest news
editor's choice