Belarus temporarily restricts border crossing with Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Ukraine

Source : 112 Ukraine

The decision is made due to epidemic situation in these countries
20:27, 29 October 2020

Ukraine and Belarus
Open source

Belarus decided to temporarily restrict entry for certain categories of citizens from Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Ukraine, considering the current epidemic situation in these neighboring countries. State Border Committee of Belarus reported that on October 29.

The list of categories includes workers of diplomatic offices and consulate institutions who hold diplomatic and service IDs; drivers of ground vehicles who service international transfers; members of train and locomotive crews of international railway connection.

At the same time, the State Border Committee of Belarus added that the entry-exit checkpoint in Minsk airport works as usual.

Related: Nationwide strike in Belarus: Over 300 people detained across country

Earlier, Ihor Kyzym, the ambassador of Ukraine in Belarus stated that Belarusian border guards have been "imposing measures so as not to let citizens from Lithuania, Poland, and Ukraine enter Belarusian territory." However, the Committee claimed that no such orders were received.

Related: 581 people detained during protests in Belarus on October 26

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more