46 UN member states adopt joint statement condemning Russia's actions in Donbas, Crimea

Source : 112 Ukraine

The UN countries emphasize that Russia’s attempts to legitimize the attempted annexation of Crimea are not, and will not be recognized
08:31, 28 March 2021

Open source

Permanent missions to the UN of 46 countries signed a joint statement on the occasion of the seventh anniversary of adoption of UN General Assembly Resolution 68/262 “Territorial Integrity of Ukraine”. This was reported by the press service of the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry. 

"Despite the clear demands of the General Assembly, the Russian Federation has not stopped its temporary occupation of Crimea. On the contrary, it continues flagrant human rights violations and abuses, and military build-up on the peninsula," the document says.

The UN countries emphasize that Russia’s attempts to legitimize the attempted annexation of Crimea are not, and will not be recognized.

Related: Most UN member countries support bringing peacekeepers to Donbas, - Poroshenko

The UN member states also firmly condemn Russia’s continued destabilization of Ukraine, especially Russia’s actions in certain areas of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions, disregarding the commitments it made under the Minsk agreements. 

"We reiterate our support for the efforts of the Normandy format and our firm commitment to a peaceful resolution of the conflict in eastern Ukraine, in line with the Minsk agreements and with full respect of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity. Russia is a party to the conflict in eastern Ukraine, not a mediator," the statement reads.

The signatories of the statement once again urged the Russian Federation to immediately end its occupation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, and fully implement the relevant UN General Assembly resolutions on the situation in Crimea. We welcome in principle Ukraine’s initiative to establish an International Crimean Platform to consolidate the international community’s efforts on Crimea.

The document was signed by representatives ofRepublic o Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, the Republic of Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, the Republic of Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, the Republic of Estonia, the Federated States of Micronesia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Latvia, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Republic of Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Marshall Islands, the Republic of Moldova, the Principality of Monaco, Montenegro, Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Republic of North Macedonia, Norway, the Republic of Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, the Republic of Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the Republic of Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs considers it unacceptable that some OSCE participating states block decisions to extend the mandate of the Special Monitoring Mission in Donbas for the next 12 months. Ukraine calls on all participants to come to a consensus. 

Related: Ukraine is among top-25 UN member states which paid contribution in time

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more