Ukraine denies participation of so-called Donetsk, Luhansk People’s Republic representatives in UN Security Council meeting

Source : 112 Ukraine

Earlier, Russian media claimed that representatives of the unrecognized republics will take part in UN Security Council meeting
15:57, 2 December 2020

UN Security Council

Ukrainian delegation to the Trilateral Contact Group (TCG) reacted to the information of Russian media about the participation of representatives of the so-called Donetsk, Luhansk People’s Republic in the UN Security Council meeting. Ukrainian side stated that the Arria formula for which Russian representatives are trying to hold this meeting is an informal meeting, and is not a meeting of the UN Security Council. The press service of the Ukrainian delegation in the TCG reported this.

“Official representatives of the Russian Federation and a number of Russian media are trying to provide resonant support for the event, which they announced as “... today, for the first time, representatives of the ‘Luhansk People’s Republic’ and ‘Donetsk People’s Republic’ will take part in a meeting of the UN Security Council,” the message says.

Ukrainian delegation to the TCG stated that the Arria formula is an informal meeting that will take place without following the procedure or using the right of veto, etc.

“Those who are not entitled or able to participate in official Security Council meetings are usually invited to these meetings - the public sector, scientists, human rights defenders, representatives of minorities, and other non-state actors,” the press service adds.

Related: Day in Donbas: Militants violate ceasefire four times, apply grenade launchers

In addition, the report says that Russian representatives have already accused France and Germany of “playing along with Ukraine” and questioned the ability of these countries to act as mediators in the Normandy format.

According to the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine Dmytro Kuleba “the meeting will be boycotted not only by Ukraine, but also by the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Estonia and Belgium. That is, by all OSCE participating states, which are now members of the Security Council, except for the Russian Federation.”

Related: Day in Donbas: Russian mercenaries breach ceasefire twice

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more