Russia plans to target 6 countries with food embargo

Source : 112 Ukraine

It would cover Ukraine and EU countries supporting sanctions
12:40, 12 August 2015

russia food ban

The Russian government is discussing the expansion of the food embargo on the six countries, which supported extension of the sanctions. This was stated by Russian Deputy Prime Minister Arkadiy Dvorkovich, as reported by DW.

"Our fundamental approach means that everyone who applied sanctions against us, faced with the corresponding responses of the food embargo," he said.

August 4, Prime Minister Dmitriy Medvedev initiated work on expanding the list of countries covered by food embargo. The first states from those "lucky" list are Ukraine, Georgia, Montenegro, Albania, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

As was reported before, sanctions were approved by EU countries, U.S., and other countries. Russia applied sanctions in response by shutting its borders to EU, U.S., Norway, Australia, and Canada food imports. It triggered Russian ruble collapse and the 2014–15 financial crisis. According to the last estimates, Russia faced with the total losses estimated as €100 bln.

Related: Russians are allowed to eat only from “Russian Eden”: Putin keep destroying sanctions products

Related: “Belgorod cheese party”: Russia destroys Ukrainian sanctions products

Related: Russia may ban Ukrainian pork import

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more