Winter time in Ukraine: When and why do we need it?

Author : News Agency

Source : 112 Ukraine

One of these days, Ukraine will change from summer to winter time. Find out more about setting the clock back and forward as seasons change
15:20, 26 October 2018

According to the decision of the Cabinet of Ministers, transition to winter time in Ukraine is carried out on the last Sunday of October for more than 20 years now. This year, the clock will be set one hour back at 4:00 am on October 28.

Thus, after this simple operation, your time has to be 3:00.

The schedules of bus stations, airports and railway stations are traditionally adapted in advance.

Why do we set the clock back and forward?

The idea to change to the 'summer-winter' time belongs to American politician Benjamin Franklin. Allegedly, in 1784, as an American ambassador to France, he anonymously published a letter proposing that Parisians save money spent on candles by using morning sunlight. For this, in his opinion, it was necessary to set the clock an hour forward and switch to summer time.

Open source

However, Franklin’s idea has gained mass support and started to be widely implemented only since 1916. The first country to use to the "summer-winter" order was Germany, followed by Great Britain and other countries. However, the motivation has not changed - it saves energy.

What countries have summer-winter time?

Today, dozens of countries in the world change to summer and winter time. In particular, in the Northern Hemisphere, 'summer-winter' transition works almost everywhere in the US, Canada, Mexico (except for a few states and provinces, for example, Saskatchewan in Canada), entirely in all countries of Europe (except Iceland, Russia and Belarus), and also in Cuba, Morocco, Iran, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine.

Open source

In the Southern Hemisphere, summer and winter time exists in Australia (in a number of states), New Zealand, Chile, Brazil (in a number of states) and Paraguay.

Japan, China, India, Singapore, as well as some of the former Soviet republics of the USSR refused from switching to 'summer and winter' time.

It is worth noting that Ukraine also wanted to stop the practice of turning the clock in 2012. However, parliamentarians were not able to agree in which time zone it would be better for Ukraine to stay: some said that summer time should remain, others were for winter, so it was decided to leave everything as it is.

It is noteworthy that last February the European Parliament also called on the European Commission to come up with a proposal to abolish the transition to summer and winter time, but there is still no solution to this issue.

Why countries refuse to change clock to summer-winter time

The reasons for the refusal to switch to summer time in each state are different. There are four main ones.

Open source

(Blue: countries that change to summer-winter time; Red -countries that do not change to summer-winter time)

First. Setting the clock to summer time and back is not rational in all latitudes. Thus, in tropical and equatorial (less than 30°) latitudes, the seasons differ just slightly, and the duration of the light day throughout the year practically does not change.

Second. With the introduction of new technologies, saving on electricity became less significant.

Third. Changing the time negatively affects the work of transport (it increases the risk of accidents on the roads), and also leads to failures in many systems.

Fourth. Doctors say that the transfer of clocks can negatively affect the human body and provoke serious health problems. In particular, this leads to a disorder of the sleep regime, the work of the cardiovascular and immune systems, as well as other metabolic processes.

Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

see more