Feedback
US election 2016: brief guide to the election day
13:16, 8 November 2016
US election 2016: brief guide to the election day

Today is the election day in America. What you need to know now and the crucial points to watch out

13:16, 8 November 2016

Open source

Americans go to the polls on 8 November to elect the 45th US president. Here's what to you need to know.

All 50 states and Washington DC will go to the polls across six different time zones on election day. Polls across the nation begin to open at 6 am ET.

But it's not just winning the popular vote that counts. The US's complicated system is a race to secure 270 out of the 538 votes in the electoral college.

Clinton wins tiny Dixville Notch, NH, which voted at midnight. Hillary Clinton is in a much stronger electoral position than Donald Trump, according to CNN’s latest map.

http://edition.cnn.com/

Most of the US will have to wait for polling stations to close - typically between 19:00 EST (24:00 GMT) and 20:00 EST (01:00 GMT) - for state projections.

However, one village, Dixville Notch in New Hampshire, has a tradition of middle-of-the-night voting and will have declared its result before the polls even open everywhere else, at 00:01 EST (05:01 GMT).

All eyes will be on the key battleground state of Virginia (13 electoral votes), which voted for Barack Obama in 2008 and 2012 but was previously solid Republican.

Related: Survey: Clinton leads Trump by 4 percent

If Donald Trump is victorious here, or if it's a close win for Hillary Clinton, it could portend a very long, stressful night for the Democrats, according to the BBC's North America reporter Anthony Zurcher.

Georgia (16) is another one to watch. The state has voted Republican since 1996, but the party's margin of victory has eroded in recent elections, according to BBC.

Also expect projections from Indiana (11), home to Trump running mate Mike Pence, Kentucky (8), South Carolina (9) and Vermont (3).

Related: Clinton’s associate calls FBI to report Trump’s connections with Kremlin

To be a presidential candidate one needs to be: at least 35 years old; a permanent US resident for at least 14 years; and considered a natural US born citizen.

Related: Trump: Hillary could bring the U.S. to WWIII

Topics:
Система Orphus

If you find an error, highlight the desired text and press Ctrl + Enter, to tell about it

Comments
see more